Yesterday, the County Council approved a new County redistricting map that’d put the entire College Park in District 1. Currently, College Park is part of two Council districts. The majority of north College Park is in District 1 (represented by CM Dernoga), and the rest of College Park is in Council District 3 (represented by CM Glaros)

Council Member Derrick Leon Davis proposed a brand-new map at yesterday’s County Council’s Committee of the Whole meeting..

Many, including some County Council members, said they did not see the new map before.

The proposed map was different from the one proposed by the Redistricting Commission, which was published before.

For College Park and surrounding communities, this new map includes multiple changes to your representation, below are several of the largest changes:

  • All of the City of College Park, including the University of Maryland, will be moved to District 1
  • All of the City of Greenbelt will be moved to District 3
  • The Town of Landover Hills and Bellmeade community will be moved to District 5
  • The communities of Lincoln Vista and all of Glenn Dale will be moved to District 4

The Council approved the map proposed by Council Member Davis by a vote of 6-4. Those opposing it were Tom Dernoga, Dannielle Glaros, Monique Anderson-Walker and Jolene Ivey. Those voting for it were Chair Calvin Hawkins, Vice-Chair Deni Taveras, Mel Franklin, Todd Turner, Sydney Harrison and Derrick Leon Davis.

The meeting was live-streamed and the archived video should be available to view here at the 3:47:45 mark.

The County Charter requires that Council Members must live in their district for one year prior to running in a primary election. The Council primary is in June 2022. This new map may impact multiple individuals across the County who are already running for County Council next year or are planning to but will have been required to live within these new boundaries since last June. This is the reason that the Redistricting Commission’s map only changed boundaries when it was necessary for population balance.

To view the Redistricting Commission’s report click here. To view the map proposed by Council Member Davis that was approved click here.

The new proposed Councilmanic district map will be on the agenda for Introduction next Tuesday morning. If it receives a favorable vote on Tuesday, it will not be able to be changed. The public hearing will take place in November. However, at that time, only two options are possible: approval of the new map approved, or the Council could take no action which would mean the Redistricting Commission’s recommended map moves forward.

Residents can reach out to the County elected officials and the At-Large members before Tuesday, October 19, when this new map is on the agenda for Introduction. Their email addresses are available below.

The College Park City Council is expected to discuss the topic and send a letter with its position on the changes at next Council Tuesday’s meeting.

Prince George’s County Council Member Contact Information

Mel Franklin Council Member (At-Large)

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair, Council Member (At-Large)

Thomas E. Dernoga Council Member (District 1)

Deni Taveras Vice-Chair, Council Member (District 2)

Dannielle M. Glaros Council Member (District 3)

Todd M. Turner Council Member (District 4)

Jolene Ivey Council Member (District 5)

Derrick L. Davis Council Member (District 6)

Rodney C. Streeter Council Member (District 7)

Monique Anderson-Walker Council Member (District 8)

Sydney J. Harrison Council Member (District 9)

[Source: Offices of CM Jolene Ivey,  CM Dernoga, CM Glaros]